Burke Cooperative Water Board


  • 9:00 AM
  • 3rd Tuesday of every other month (Feb, Jun, Aug, Oct, no meeting in Dec)
  • Rutherford College Town Hall


  • Brentwood Water Corporation
    • Roger Lowery, Glenn McCurry
  • Burke County
    • Commissioner Johnnie Carswell, Mark Delehant
  • City of Hickory
    • Shawn Pennell, Drew Foy
  • Town of Rhodhiss
    • David Wortman, Rick Justice
  • Town of Rutherford College
    • John Leger, Kenneth Geathers
  • Town of Valdese
    • Greg Padgett, Eric Wilson

Board Officers

  • Chairman
    • John Leger, Rutherford College
  • Vice-Chairman
    • Robert Turner, Brentwood Water
  • Secretary
    • Drew Foy, Hickory


The purpose of the Burke County Cooperative Water Board is to provide advice and leadership to Burke County with regard to water delivery systems in the County while focusing on growth and efficiency.

The Board membership consists of one representative and an alternate appointed by each of six actively participating water providers in Burke and Catawba counties. Officers are elected from among the membership annually.

It is the responsibility of the Board members to work with the State Public Utilities Commission to the extent possible, and to stay familiar with Chapter 62 “Public Utilities” of the North Carolina General Statutes as amended.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes