Parks & Recreation Commission


The Recreation Commission shall consult with and advise the Recreation Department and the Board of Commissioners in matters affecting recreation policies, programs, finances, and activities to provide healthful and wholesome recreation to the citizens of Burke County. This commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of every month.


  • 13 Members
  • Appointed by the Board of Commissioners

Each member shall serve a three-year term. A Commissioner serves on this commission and shall serve concurrent with his term as Commissioner. 


Appointments are to represent youth athletic playing districts based on the elementary school districts in Burke County. Playing districts participating in three or more youth sporting leagues are eligible for a representative. The playing districts include:

  • Chesterfield
  • Drexel
  • Forest Hill
  • George Hildebran
  • Glen Alpine
  • Hildebran
  • Morganton
  • Mull
  • Oak Hill
  • Ray Childers
  • Salem
  • Valdese